Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Someone moved my marker on the green..

I hit my ball out of a bunker, marked it and then went back to rake the sand. After I'd returned to the green, replaced my ball and holed my putt, my playing partner informed me she had moved my marker, which had been in her line. I hadn't move it back because I didn't know it had been moved. Is there a penalty?

Because you did not know that your ball marker had been moved, you should not have incurred a penalty (see Rule 18-1 and Decision 18-1/3). Had you known the marker had been moved and forgot to move it back, you would have been penalized two strokes.

No comments: