Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Relief from a sprinkler head

Am I entitled to relief without penalty from a sprinkler head near the putting green if it interferes with my line of play?

You may take relief from a sprinkler head only if it interferes with your stroke or stance. According to Rule 24-2a: "Interference by an immovable obstruction occurs when a ball lies in or on the obstruction, or when the obstruction interferes with the player's stance or the area of her intended swing...Otherwise, intervention on the line of play is not, of itself, interference under this Rule." So just because you're putting from the fringe and the sprinkler head is on your line, you don't get a free drop. The possibility of your ball ricocheting off a sprinkler head does not mean you can take relief either. Suck it up, grab the wedge and chip over it.

No comments: